Best of Austin List

Recommendations by NAMC members:

Please see our recommendations for parks, playscapes, kid’s activities, eateries for kids and for date nights, libraries and storytimes, pediatricians, OBGYN, dentists, and kids haircuts.  Keep checking back as we continue to update our list!

Parks
Anderson Mill West Park - intersection of Dagama and El Salido Parkway, Cedar Park, TX 78613

Canyon Creek Trailhead Park - Boulder Lane, Austin TX 78726

Central Market - North Lamar http://www.centralmarket.com/Home.aspx

Champion Park - 3820 Brushy Creek Rd, Cedar Park 78613

Mueller Park http://www.muelleraustin.com/parks-and-open-spaces

Play for All Abilities - Round Rock http://www.roundrocktexas.gov/home/index.asp?page=1453

Rattan Creek Park - Tamayo Drive, Jollyville 78729

Robinson Park - Humphrey Dr. (off Anderson Mill Rd) Jollyville 78729

Springwoods Park - 9117 Anderson Mill Rd, Austin, TX 78729

Zilker Park http://www.austintexas.gov/department/zilker-metropolitan-park

 

Splash Pads
Brushy Creek Park

Champion Park - weekends only

Quarry Park

Robin Bledsoe Splash Pad

 

Bounce Houses & Indoor Playscapes
Inflatable Wonderland in Lakeline Mall http://www.inflatablewonderland.com/landing/

JumpStreet http://www.gotjump.com

Pump it Up http://www.pumpitupparty.com/tx/austin/home-p1q127.htm


Safari Champ http://www.safarichamp.com/

Y.M.C.A. - Northwest Branch

 

Kid Friendly Restaurants
Boathouse Grill http://www.boathousegrill.com/

Carino's Italian Restaurant http://www.carinos.com/

Central Market - North Lamar http://www.centralmarket.com/Home

Chik-fil-A http://www.chick-fil-a.com

Chuy's http://www.chuys.com

El Arroyo 

Firehouse Subs http://www.firehousesubs.com/

Kerbey Lane Cafe http://www.kerbeylanecafe.com/

Lone Star Grille http://www.lonestargrilletx.com

Mesa Rosa http://www.mesarosa.com/

Phil's Icehouse http://philsicehouse.com

Serrano's http://www.serranos.com/

Torchy's Tacos http://www.torchystacos.com/

 

Date Night Restaurants


Andiamo Ristorante http://www.andiamoitaliano.com/

Carmelo's http://carmelosrestaurant.com/locations/austin/

Chez Nous http://cheznousaustin.com/about.html

Chez Zee http://www.chez-zee.com/


Eddie V's https://www.eddiev.com/


Estancia Churrascaria http://www.estanciachurrascaria.com/ 


Fonda San Miguel http://www.fondasanmiguel.com/


Hudson's on the Bend http://www.hudsonsonthebend.com/


Mandola's http://www.mandolasmarket.com/

Roaring Fork http://www.roaringfork.com

Uchiko http://uchiaustin.com/uchiko

Vespaio http://www.austinvespaio.com/vespaio/vespaio.html

Z-Tejas http://ztejas.com/ 

 

Ice Cream Places
Amy's Ice Cream http://www.amysicecreams.com/
Freddy's Frozen Custard http://www.freddysusa.com/
Marble Slab http://www.marbleslab.com/#
Rita's - McNeil and Parmer http://www.ritasfranchises.com

 

Cupcakes / Desserts
Anne's Kitchen Cakes http://annskitchen.com/

Baked by Amy’s http://www.bakedbyamys.com

Cupprimo http://cupprimo.com/

Gigi's Cupcakes http://www.gigiscupcakesusa.com/cedarparktexas

Hey Cupcake https://www.heycupcake.com/

Melting Pot http://www.meltingpot.com/austin-northwest/welcome

Steeping Room - Domain http://www.thesteepingroom.com/

Upper Crust Bakery http://uppercrustbakery.com/

 

Librarys

Austin Public Library - Milwood branch http://library.austintexas.gov/locations/Milwood%20Branch

Austin Public Library - Spicewood Springs branch http://library.austintexas.gov/locations/Spicewood%20Springs%20Branch

Cedar Park Library http://www.cedarparktx.us/index.aspx?page=202

Leander Library http://leander.librarycatalog.info/polaris/

Round Rock Library http://www.roundrocktexas.gov/library/

Wells Branch Community Library http://www.wblibrary.org/

 

Storytimes
Austin Public Library - Milwood branch http://library.austintexas.gov/locations/Milwood%20Branch
Austin Public Library - Spicewood Springs branch http://library.austintexas.gov/locations/Spicewood%20Springs%20Branch

Barnes & Noble - Homestead/Lakeline location http://store-locator.barnesandnoble.com/store/2943

Cedar Park Library http://www.cedarparktx.us/index.aspx?page=202

Round Rock Library Baby Storytime http://www.roundrocktexas.gov/library/

Wells Branch Community Library http://www.wblibrary.org/

 

Kid Activities
Austin Nature and Science Center http://www.austintexas.gov/department/austin-nature-science-center

Austin Zoo and Animal Sanctuary http://www.austinzoo.org/

Ceramics Bayou http://www.ceramicsbayou.com/ 

Chapparal Ice http://www.chaparralice.com/

Fire Pit Ceramics http://firepitceramics.com/

Foodie Kids Austin https://foodie-kids.com


Main Event http://www.mainevent.com

The Thinkery [formerly Children’s Museum] https://thinkeryaustin.org

Toybrary Toy Store + Activities www.toybraryaustin.com

 

Preschools

Abacus http://www.abacusschoolofaustin.com

The Bethany School http://www.bethany-umc.org/bethany-school

Challenger School http://www.challengerschool.com/

First Foundations http://firstfoundations.com

Kidspa http://www.kidspaaustin.com/avery-ranch/

Hope Presbyterian http://www.hopechildrenscenter.com

Spicewood Country School http://www.spicewoodcountry.com

St. Mark's - Mom's Day Out http://locality.com/place/st-mark-childrens-day-out-austin-tx


Daycares
Abacus

Jardin de Ninos

Kidspa

 

Websites for Local Events
Austin 360 http://www.Austin360.com
Austin Family http://www.AustinFamily.com
Do512 Family http://www.Do512Family.com
Free Fun in Austin http://www.FreeFunInAustin.com
Little Austinite http://www.LittleAustinite.com
Macaroni Kid Austin http://NWAustin.Macaronikid.com
Mr. Johnny's http://www.KidEvents.com

 

Pediatricians
Austin Diagnostic Clinic North [ADC] (512) 901-4016

Dr. Jill Nichols

Dr. Howard

Dr. Cepeda

Dr. Vandana Rawal


Austin Regional Clinic [ARC]  (512) 346-6611

Dr. Paige Suffredini

Dr. Deborah Bryant

Dr. Nancy Owens


Cedar Park Pedi & Family Medicine (512) 366-2777


Hill Country Pediatrics (512) 241-1370

Lone Star Pediatrics (512) 833-7334

North Austin Pediatrics (512) 259-0900 - Dr. Erica Sharp


Northwest Pediatric & Adolescent Medicine (512) 338-8500 - Dr. Benhammine 


Pediatric Center of Round Rock (512) 733-5437— Dr. Katalenas or Dr. Jacomides

Treehouse Pediatrics (512) 255-8868

OBGYN

Austin Area Obstetrics, Gynecology & Fertility (512) 451- 8211 Dr. Robert Cowan

Austin Regional Clinic (512) 338-8181 Dr. Steven Soloman

Nurture OBGYN (512) 994-2662 - Dr. Andrea Campaigne 


Oak Wood Women's Center (512) 244-3698 - Dr. Michel


OBGYN Group of Austin (512) 454-5721 - Dr. MJ Braunstein

OBGYN North (512) 425-3825 - Dr. Christina Sebestyen

Renissance Women's Group (512) 339-6626

Dr. Melanie Collins 

Dr. Montalvo

Dr. Laurette Smith


St. Davids Woman’s Center [ADC] (512) 901-4063 

Dr. Wendy Cutler

Dr. Angela Meyer

Dr. Stephanie McNeilis

Dr. Allison Devine


Pediatric Dentist
Austin's Children's Dentistry (512) 716-1500 

Dr. Melanson. 

Dr. Danny Watts 

Dr. Daniel Johnson


Groovy Molar Kids (512)349-9500 Dr. Brad Singleton 

Little Smiles (512) 218-1500— Dr. Jenny

Rising Stars (512) 266-7200

Texas Tooth Fairies (512) 401-8888 Dr. Singletary

Hairstylist
KAOS Kids Salon (512) 331-1500

Milk & Honey Arboretum (512) 236-1115 - Adrienne

New Image Salon (512) 257-8593— Jessica

Pig Tails & Crewcuts (512) 259-4353

Smartstyle www.smartstyle.com

Zig Zag Salon (512) 467-9774  - Katie Astoria